Who is "Anthony Pranata"?
Fun July 24th. 2007, 4:08pmA couple of days, my wife’s cousin asked me about my web site. I told her that URL of my web site is the same as my complete name, which is http://www.antonypranata.com. Guess what, she typed the wrong URL, http://www.anthonypranata.com (with ‘h’), and was brought to a completely different web site.
If you visit the “fake” web site, you would see some paid links. They all use the keywords “stolen” from my original web site, such as S60 3rd Edition Software, Screenshot Symbian, etc.
Who is the guy who bought that domain name? I tried to search it on Whois.net, and got the following result:
Name: Admin - Organization: Maltuzi LLC Email: admin@maltuzi.com Address: 800 West El Camino Real Suite 180 City, Province, Post Code: Mountain View, California, 94040 Country: US Phone: 1.6508146730
What should I do to this guy? Call him/her?
July 24th, 2007 at 7:25 pm
hmm maybe just make an announcement to your friend or the other visitor, that website is not yours.
Do you remember that there is a website almost same with big bank website. And it can access transaction, if i not wrong. It so cruel right..
July 24th, 2007 at 10:52 pm
it means that you have become celebrities then..:)
July 25th, 2007 at 11:19 pm
Maltuzi is a very large domain name buyer/investor. Sometimes they cast a very broad net. Contact them, explain the situation and they will likely find a way to get the name back to you. This has worked in the past.
July 26th, 2007 at 8:36 pm
I would not use the word “investor” in connection with Maltuzi. Take a look at this:
scamfraudalert.com/f38/worldcashutilities-www-worldcashutilities-com-5919
Another site identifies questionable activities here:
domainstatute.com/blog
And then there’s this, a little less serious (as it relates to cybersquatting, instead of fraud) but…:
websterscafe.com/comment.php?comment.news.24
As far as I can tell, these people are bad news. I have no idea why you wish to give the benefit of the doubt in this?
July 27th, 2007 at 10:13 am
Some parallels with this story: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/07/26/symbian_symbain/
Nick Healey set up a website called symbain.com to illustrate how easy it was to mistype a domain in an e-mail and send confidential content to a complete stranger. The domain is years old, but has just hit the news again because of a frameset bug (and because it’s a slow week for news).
In the case I mention, there was no malicious intent, but in your case, someone has more nefarious motives, I suspect. Do you use your domain to receive e-mail (e.g. information@antonypranata.com)? If so, you should warn your contacts to check their spelling before they send, in case they mail important information to Maltuzi by mistake!